top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlejandro Gonzalez

Discover Canada

Updated: Jul 4

Canada is the second largest country on earth ( 10 million square kilometres).

When Europeans explored Canada, they found all regions occupied by native people, whom they called Indians.

Toronto - Canada
Toronto - Canada

A Glimpse Into Canada's Past

The native people lived off the land, some by hunting and gathering, others by raising crops. The arrival of European traders, missionaries, soldiers, and colonists forever shaped the native way of life.

Between 1534 and 1542, Jacques Cartier made three voyages across the Atlantic, claiming the land for King Francis I of France. Carter heard two captured guides speak the Iroquoian word (Kanata), meaning village. By the 1550s, the name of Canada began appearing on maps.

In 1604, French explorers Pierre de Monts and Samuel de Champlain established the first European settlement north of Florida at Port Royal in Acadia ( Nova Scotia).

In 1608, Champlain built a fortress in what is now Quebec City. Champlain allied the colony with the Algonquin, Montagnais and Huron, historic enemies of the Iroquois.

In 1759, the British defeated the French in the Battle of the Plains of Abraham at Quebec City, marking the end of the French empire in America.

Democratic intuitions developed gradually and peacefully. The first representative assembly was elected in Halifax, Nova Scotia in 1758. Prince Edward Island followed in 1773, New Brunswick in 1785.

The Constitutional Act of 1791 divided the Province of Quebec into Upper Canada ( later known as Ontario), mainly Loyalist, Protestant and English-speaking, and Lower Canada (later Quebec), mostly Catholic and French-speaking.

By 1814, the Americans attempted to conquer Canada. The British had paid for a costly Canadian defence system, which helped Canada remain independent.

In 1840, Upper and Lower Canada were united as the province of Canada.

From 1864 to 1867, representatives of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the Province of Canada, with British support, worked together to establish a new country.

These men are known as the Fathers of Confederation. They created two levels of government: federal and provincial.

The old Province of Canada was split into two new provinces: Ontario and Quebec. Together with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, these provinces formed the new country called the Dominion of Canada.

The British Parliament passed the British North America Act in 1867. The Dominion of Canada, was officially born on July 1, 1867.

British Columbia joined Canada in 1871 after Ottawa built a railway to the West Coast.

The Canadian economy grew and became more industrialized during the economic boom of the 1890s and early 1900s. One million British and one million Americans immigrated to Canada at this time.

Quebec - Canada
Quebec - Canada

Modern Canada

Today, Canada is a federal state, a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy.

The country has one of the ten largest economies in the world. It is part of the G8 group of leading industrialized countries with the USA, Germany, the United Kingdom, Italy, France, Japan and Russia.

The Canadian economy is formed by service industries that provide thousands of jobs in areas like transportation, education, health care, construction, banking, communications, retail services, tourism, and government.

Manufacturing industries include paper, high-tech equipment, aerospace technology, automobiles, machinery, food, clothing, and other goods.

Natural resource industries include forestry, fishing, agriculture, mining, and energy.

Geographically, three oceans line Canada's borders: the Pacific Ocean in the west, the Atlantic Ocean in the east, and the Arctic Ocean in the north. Along with the United States, Canada has one of the most extensive borders on earth.

Regions of Canada

Canada has five distinct regions:

  1. The Atlantic Provinces

  2. Central Canada

  3. The Prairie Provinces

  4. The West Coast

  5. The Northern Territories

The national capital is Ottawa.

Canada has ten provinces and three territories, these are:

The Atlantic Provinces:

Newfoundland and Labrador - Capital city St. John{s

Prince Edward Island - Capital city Charlottetown

Nova Scotia - Capital city Halifax

New Brunswick - Capital city Fredericton

Whale watching is very popular in Newfoundland and Labrador
Whale watching is very popular in Newfoundland and Labrador

Central Canada:

Quebec - Capital city Quebec City

Ontario- Capital city Toronto

Downtown Toronto
Downtown Toronto

The Prairie Provinces

Manitoba - Capital city Winnipeg

Saskatchewan - Capital Regina

Alberta - Capital City Edmonton

Calgary - Alberta
Calgary - Alberta

The West Coast

British Columbia - Capital city Victoria

Vancouver - British Columbia
Vancouver - British Columbia

The Northern Territories

Nunavut - Capital city - Iqaluit

Northwest Territories - Yellowknife

Yukon Territory - Capital city Whitehorse

How to immigrate to Canada

Aiming to immigrate to Canada?

The process can seem complicated, but proper guidance is entirely achievable.

Canada has more than 80 immigration avenues.

You can start your immigration journey by studying or working in Canada. Once you meet the requirements, you may be eligible for permanent residency.

Some can obtain Canadian permanent residency by applying for a provincial nomination, express entry, or spousal sponsorship.

We hope this article has been helpful.

This information is for educational purposes. To find out the most current information, since Canadian immigration law changes overnight, you should schedule your immigration assessment:


A reminder that the information provided in this article is not legal advice. We do not take any responsibility or liability for the information given. We encourage users to arrange for direct legal advice if needed.

I am a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant
I am a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant

Let the stories of Canada's history be a beacon of inspiration, guiding us towards a brighter tomorrow, where diversity is not just accepted but celebrated with open arms.

¡See you soon!

8 views0 comments


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page